Evolution of Denim: Barber School Edition.

When I first started the blog, I made an attempt to start posting the evolution of a pair of Levi’s jeans, and clearly, I’ve clearly moved away from that project– far away… But, since I’m in barber college, I now have a daily routine, which will allow me to put some wear and tear into some jeans. And hey, who doesn’t like to see where a pair of jeans takes ’em?

While nothing “special,” the Levi’s 501 model is a favorite of mine. Of course, there are “better” jeans out there, but, I won’t turn down a pair of 501s. I mean, they’re classic! Most cats look at it as a “staple” to the greaser look, but to me, it’s quite more than that- it’s a staple of Americana. Of course, I’m not here to talk about the history of the 501, that’s your job to research! But, at least you now have something new to learn about.

Unlike a few barber schools, mine has a dress code: All black. Simple, right? The thing is, since you’re around folk every day, being seen in the same get-up is pretty damn noticeable. So, I have a pair of Dickies on rotation, along with my 501s. While I personally wouldn’t complain about wearing my Levi’s on a daily, I’m sure not only my fellow classmates, but so would customers. Doesn’t hurt to change things up every once in a while.

So, without further ado, let the documenting of my Levi’s 501s begin!

Levi’s 501 Black: No soak; No Wash.

From this distance, any sign of any wear is pretty damn difficult to see. But, let’s see my every-day-carry, that’ll add to the wear.

Front Right Pocket: Chapstick; Flashlight.
Front Left Pocket: Nothing.
Back Right Pocket: Knife; Bandana; Comb.
Back Left Pocket: Wallet.
Belt Loops: Belt; Wallet Chain; Key Hook (Not pictured.)

I’ll be updating the evolution in December. With the cold seasons right around the corner, the elements will affect the 501s.

Now, only got 2 months of wear in these jeans, so any sort of wear is difficult to see/isn’t there. The barber classes are only for a total of 10 months, and that’s not really a lot of time… I’ve got jeans that are older than my kid! But, moving around the way barbers students do, messing around with hair products, chemicals, hair, and all that good ol’ barbershop dirty stuff, I’d say I could get good wear out of these jeans.

I won’t be washing these anytime soon, just because it’s what I do, but I will maintain the freshness of these by hanging them up to air out, as well as spraying some sort of disinfectant on em. Because, not only am I getting synthetic hair, pomade, amongst the vast service products we use, on these jeans, but peoples’ hair! Yup… gross…

Well folks, that’s all for now.

Until the next time,

Stay Greasy!

2 responses to “Evolution of Denim: Barber School Edition.

  1. I liked the “I’ve got jeans that are older than my kid!” line. I’ve got a pair of 513 which they apparently don’t do anymore that my wife (then girlfriend) bought me about 11 years ago. they’ve all but had it but i refuse to throw ’em out. they’re like an old reliable friend. plus they are 8 or so years older than my oldest daughter

  2. Is that a Cold Steel Ti Lite? I carry one, and I’d recommend putting some loctite over the screws of the pocket clip. Not exactly related to the post, bit I couldn’t help but notice.

Leave a Reply

