Pomade For Beginners: Things You Should Know.

From what I’ve noticed, my blog has helped a lot of folks out with pomade. Not only those seeking the amazing pompadour, but those looking to make pomade their go-to styling product. Not to sound full of myself, but I sure as hell wish there was something like this when I got my pomade cherry popped! So, to help prepare you folks, who don’t know what to expect when you dip into that grease, I wrote out a few things I’ve learned along the way. I’ll be adding this to the FAQ above, where you can find some answers to other questions you may have.

Enjoy!

Build Up Your Tolerance:

Just like anything going in or on your body for the first time, your body is going to react to it. Pomade, is no different. If you’re making the transition from no hair product usage, to pomade, do not rush it! Don’t just cake on your hair with palm full of pomade. You gotta take some baby steps, folks!

Gradually add pomade to your hair, daily! Chances are, your scalp is not used it having anything other than shampoo, conditioner, and the natural oils it produces on it.  If you just go balls deep, your scalp is gonna react to it by producing oils to counter the greasy hair product. This doesn’t necessarily mean you’re allergic to the pomade, so don’t fret. The negatives about having more oils on your scalp, means you well… now have an overly oily scalp. With more oils, means your scalp will have a harder time breathing, making it work in overtime, making it produce more oil. (Ever notice guys who wear hats all the time, usually have more oily hair than those who don’t?) 

To avoid this, all you have to do is shower as you would. I don’t mean thoroughly wash out the pomade, as you’ll pretty much be going back to square one. I mean, if you shampoo your hair every other day or two, do just that. Depending on the pomade you’re using (if it’s a wax or petrolatum based pomade,) it won’t thoroughly wash out with ordinary shampoo. This way, you’re washing out small bits of pomade. Not a lot, but just enough to allow your scalp to relax and ease up on the oils.

Since your hair will still have pomade in it, from the day(s) before, you won’t need to apply as much product as you did. You’ll be gradually adding pomade into your hair throughout the week, which builds up your immunity to the grease! 

Acne:

Even if you don’t have acne, you may get an occassional white head or two if you don’t pay attention. Whenever you get pomade on your skin, wipe it off! Though mineral oil is known to have pore-clogging properties, even pomade without mineral oil can cause acne. Why? Because your skin isn’t breathing with pomade covering it. Rocket Science? I think so!

So, after putting some pomade in your hair, just take a wet towel or a baby wipe and wipe off any excess pomade that may have gotten on your forehead, face, or neck. Quick. Simple. And effective.

Don’t Share Brushes:

Don’t share your brushes or combs! Not in the selfish “this is my lucky comb!” type of way, but if someone in your household doesn’t use pomade, and you use their brush, well… if it isn’t obvious, they’ll be having some unwanted pomade in their hair! Not only that, but dandruff as well. I mean, how would YOU feel if you had someone else’s dandruff in your hair?! Yeah… Case closed.

Be prepared to have a whole new arsenal of hair styling tools.

Combing Out Hairs:

Now that you’ve got some new combs and brushes, you’ll notice quite a few hairs in em. Most people will believe that the pomade is actually making their hair fall out. While that may be the case for some*, it’s completely normal. Why you ask?

On average, you lose about 100 hairs a day. Not at one single time, but throughout the day. Whether it’s putting on a shirt, turning over in bed, or even going on a walk- it doesn’t matter what you’re doing, your hair naturally sheds itself without you knowing. But, since you’re now combing your hair, you’re taking notice to what’s in your comb and are panicking like crazy. Go look at any chicks hairbrush, you’ll see a bunch of hair in there! Does she look like she’s got pomade in her hair? I don’t think so. It’s one of those day-to-day things we don’t notice, until you pay specific attention to it. I bet you don’t realize yellow pee is a bad thing!

So, unless you’ve got 20 strands of hair in between two teeth of your comb, from one single swoop, you’ll have absolutely nothing to worry about.

*For some people, they get allergic reactions from certain ingredients in the pomade. Not just petrolatum based ones, but the water-soluble gel-type ones, too! A few allergic reactions have been either hair loss or skin irritation, causing a rash. So, if you have any known skin allergies, double-check the ingredients in your hair products, before using them. Don’t worry, it’s not the pomade… It’s you! There’s nothing wrong with it, it’s just the way it is!

Styling:

You’ll definitely have to trust me on this one, folks!

Unless you have Elvis hands, you will not get your hair the way you want it with pomade, for the first few weeks! TRUST ME! If you take a look at the photos from my earlier reviews, you’ll see how my pomp has evolved, and with the reviews to come, you’ll see how it’s evolving. This doesn’t just go for the pompadour, but for any hair style. You’ll stand in front of the mirror, mess around with your hair, some days hate it, some days love it… it’s just the way it is. This, like many other things in life, a learning curve. It took me a long time to decently style my hair, and I’m still not where I want it to be!  Just take the time to practice and you’ll be doin’ your ‘do proper, in no time.

Well, I hope this has been helpful for some folks. As I’ve said, I know a lot of people have recently made the transition into the world of pomade, so this is mainly for you folks.

Until the next time.

Stay Greasy!

18 responses to “Pomade For Beginners: Things You Should Know.

  1. well put. im currently using imperial water soluble classic pomade and it’s a learning curve thats for sure.

  2. Hello ,i have an undesired natural part in my hair ,how to get rid of it?.A more stiffer pomade?

    • Vrabie,

      A stiffer pomade would help, but there’s more than just that to consider. You have to train your hair. Whenever you use a heaveir pomade, use it to train your hair. Meaning, you have to slick your hair where you want it to go, before it starts to part there “naturally.” I’ll be doing a topic on training your hair, in the near future. So stay tuned. If anything, shoot me an email and I’ll go more indepth with you. therebelrouser@yahoo.com

      – Jan

  3. Jan
    Just a quick comment on hair loss on brushes/combs. I live in the UK, and we have moved into the spring and two weeks back I noticed a few hairs on
    my brush. This doesn’t worry me too much because I have always taken the view that we, as animals, moult when the climate gets warmer. Okay it’s not exactly a tropical climate here in England, but animals do moult when the season changes, just ask my cat, she has started. Before anyone starts whimpering about Murray’s causing hair loss, I been using S Curl, Blue Magic and now Jamaican Mango and Lime Wax and still I got a few hairs on my brush with each pomade, so I guess I’m in the moulting season, cause my hair still looks as thick as ever.
    Sean
    PS
    20 years ago I became concerned about hairloss, so I started using a bath that I had put the plug in whilst I washed my hair. After a week of doing this and counting the strands of hair that were floating in the warm water I came to the conclusion that I was an idiot for thinking like this, and 20 years on I aint a baldy, but occasionally still an idiot as my wife will testify.

    • Sean,

      Good point about the moulting season! It’s true, as the seasons change, you are more likely to lose more hair in certain seasons, just like the birds or any other animal. It’s just a natural occuring thing! But ya know, folks will look too far into it. On occasion, I’ll get a hairloss scare myself, haha.

      – Jan

  4. Hey there Rebel Rouser,

    I’m fairly new to the whole pomade thing (well, in the last 5 months anyway). I started with Murray’s Superior and tried Dax’s Short and Neat for a short time in there before switching back to Murray’s. It’s starting to get warm here in MN and today my small pomp fell from the heat almost like I had taken a hair dryer to it. Is there something that’s got better heat resistance to it than the regular Murray’s Superior? My hair is thick and has got natural waves without some strong grease in it. Would the Murray’s with Beeswax be a better fit for the summer season? Thanks for any suggestions in advance and keep up the awesome blog. I always look forward to reading your reviews.

    Zach

    • Hey Zach, real sorry for the late reply.

      Even though Murray’s is on the “heavy stuff” pedestal, it’s really not the strongest stuff around. Murray’s Beeswax or Nu-Nile (by Murray’s) are a lot stronger and better than Murray’s Superior. You can also check out Dax Wave & Groom, which is similar to Nu-Nile. Any one of those three will hold up a whole lot better in the heat, than Murray’s Superior. Check em out and let me know what you think.

      Again, real sorry for the late reply. I hope this helps!

      – Jan

  5. Hey Jan,

    Just thought I’d let you know that the Dax Wave and Groom was the ticket for me in the heat. Most days and even with a hard hat on all day, I can still throw up my hair into a pomp. I actually found the stuff at a place around here called Sally Beauty Supply. I did by the Murray’s with Beeswax, but I found it to be too light for my hair and by the end of the day, I’d have a great 70’s style wave in my hair. Thanks so much for the input and the great info on your page! It’s greatly appreciated.

    Zach

  6. so I have been usuing Murry’s for almost a year, and the top of my scalp has thinned out heavily, Looking at a picture from last year you couldn’t see my scalp. Is it from Murrys and not getting enough nutrience?

    • It could be a number of things. But, I suggest switching from Murray’s to Dax. The prodcuts are better and aren’t as harsh on the hair and aren’t a pain to wash out.

      – Jan

  7. Hello! I am wanting to start using pomade so I have ordered two tin cans of Mr. Ducktail Pomade. You are mentioning here that one should take it gradual in the beginning, however I have been, throughout the last months, been using renati with medium hold. Would this be giving me some sort of headstart, or would you recommend doing as you have described, and taking it a small portion at the time?

    Thank you.
    -John

    • John,

      Small portions at a time will not only allow you to get the most out of each tin of pomade, but will also ensure you that you aren’t coating your scalp with grease (which would cause the blockage of oxygen to your scalp… as you can imagine, it’s not a good thing!)

      – Jan

  8. Hey Rebel Rouser,

    I understand the importance of natural oils in the hair but is it really that harmful to wash and condition your hair daily? I guess I can see the point of washing every other day if you are NOT using any pomades or oil. But, if you put grease in your hair everyday do you really think shampoo and conditioner would do any harm on a daily basis? What do you think?

    Chris

    • Hey Chris,

      The main damage comes from shampooing your hair every day. Conditioning is fine, as it’s more so for the hair itself, whereas shampoos target the scalp (hence why it’s not good to use it daily.)

      The grease isn’t/shouldn’t be in contact with your scalp 24/7, as you’d wash out any residual pomade that may have seeped onto your scalp. If this were the case, your scalp wouldn’t have any chance to breathe and you’d noticeably lose hair.

      – Jan

  9. quick question.. how often should you degrease? everday? every other day? once a week? have no idea if washing my hair with olive oild and dish soap everyday will thin out my hair.

    • Depending how often you switch pomades or want to thoroughly degrease. If you want to switch grease every other day, then do it then. But no more than 2-3 times a week, as I mentioned in the other post.

      – Jan

  10. Just used Murray’s Superior for the first time today, thought I would try it instead of salon products. Lets say that they have another loyal customer haha 🙂 I’ve been trying to do a matt smithy thing with my hair for quite some time and nothing seemed to work. But all I used was a bit of pomade and boom, It made it better than any expensive salon product ever did. Goes to show that pomade is superior in every way I suppose.

Leave a Reply

