Tuesday Tunes

Roy Clark – Please Mr. Mayor

2 responses to “Tuesday Tunes

  1. Hey Jan, this isn’t related to your post but I don’t know how else to get hold of you, I’m looking for a water-soluable pomade just to have and I’m wondering what you would suggest between:
    Lone Star Classic (Middle Value for $/oz)
    Grant’s Golden Brand Putty Pomade (Best Value for $/oz)
    Layrite Original (Worse Value for $/oz)
    My hair is fairly thick (I’m Filipino) but I’m also new to styling my hair. I usually use Murray’s and mix it a bit with Royal Crown.
    What do you think?

    • Here’s how they stack up, from strongest to “weakest”:

      Grant’s Putty Pomade
      Lone Star Classic
      Layrite Original

      Depending on how much hold you need, I’d say you’re better off with either Grant’s or Lone Star. They both will last you a long time, compared to some of the other water-soluble pomades on the market.

      If you want a cheap alternative to Layrite, check out Grease Monkey by Monkey Brains. You should be able to find it at a Rite Aid, CVS, or Walgreens. It works just as well and is a no more than $4. If you’re lucky, you’ll find it for $1 or buy 1 get 1 free. Can’t beat it, either way.

      – Jan

Leave a Reply

