Pomade Review: Lone Star (Super)

Another long overdue review, sorry Chris!

Lone Star’s super-hold pomade has given me a lot of trouble… because the differences between the classic hold and super-hold are very subtle, and it was pretty damn difficult to figure out those differences! It was almost to the point where it’s unnoticeable to the “untrained” eye. But, that’s what I’m here to do, and hopefully, I did it.

Now, when I received the classic hold, I got it in a sample container, which didn’t have the actual labels. So after talking to Chris on the phone, I got a heads up on the details to the design of the actual product; all of which are very personal touches, which adds to the unique qualities to the products as a whole.

The container, very much like the sample, is very reminiscent of a baseball. White plastic container, red and blue accents with black lettering, it gives a good amount of color to the colorless product. A little bulldog on the container is in memory of a pet. Unfortunately, I couldn’t capture the image on my phone, but it’s there.

Just like the classic hold, it’s an uncolored product with the same classic scent. I found out that Chris pretty much owns the rights to the scent. So if you dig the scent and want to use it, you’ll have to go through him!

And just like the classic hold, it has the same gummy consistency. And again, it’s not a product you’ll be able to apply to dry hair. This is a product you’ll have to apply to wet hair, as slightly dampened hair will still cause a bit of trouble. 

Inside the container, they’re virtually the same product. Even to the touch, they look and feel the same. But as soon as it gets in your hair, that’s when the differences start to show…

Being a “super-hold” product, you’d expect it to be a lot stiffer on the hair – to get a bit more tug here and there, ya know, the usual. But in actuality, it’s a lot “lighter” on the hair than the classic hold… if that makes sense. Between the two, I found that the classic hold is in the hair and more of a “super-hold”feel than this one. It may just be that the sample container compacted the product more-so, which made the ingredients react that way, I’m not 100% sure. But I think it may be somewhere along those lines.

Now, styling wise, they both still style like a petroleum-based product, which is awesome. I say this, because a majority of the water-soluble products out there usually leave your pomp blocky and flat. Where as with Lone Star, it’s much easier to get a rounded/bulbous pomp. 

Another difference and to my surprise, this actually had more of a glossy finish than the classic hold. Take a look!

With Lone Star’s super-hold, I encountered something that I’ve never gotten from any other water-soluble pomade, even its classic brethren – flaking. I’ve gotten clumping from the classic hold, but never the flaking. As you can see above my left ear. (Yeah, I know the difference between dandruff and pomade flakes, so don’t try me!)

Usually, flaking with a product is either because of:

A) Using too much product.
B) The way the product reacts to moisture (water.)

This time around, it was from neither nor. I’ve applied this product in various ways – little by little, globs at a time, dry/damp/wet hair, all that jazz. Each and every time, resulted in flaking. To get rid of the flakes, means you’ll have to physically put your hands in your hair, and streak them through. A comb just won’t do the trick. Not a huge issue for me, but I know it’s a major concern for most cats.

Here’s a few notes, just incase some cats didn’t catch the differences between the classic and super-hold.

Notes:

– Both are equally malleable, classic being a bit stiffer.
– Super has a slight glossy finish. Classic is more matte.
– Super having a more of a flake issue, than the classic.
– Same great scent.
– Same price point.

Overall, even with the first time flaking, I actually enjoyed this product, even more so than the classic hold! The application and styling is a bit more to my liking. It’s really hard to describe it, but once you get the products in your hands/hair, you’ll know exactly what I’m talking about.

This product is great alternative to some of the more pricier products on the market. Why? Since the product is stretchy, a little will go a long way, so you won’t have to use as much. Plus, you get 2oz more, than you would with the other competitors, that are around the same price point. So for you cats looking to save some money on a good water-soluble product, definitely take a look into Lone Star.

Big thanks again to Chris. Hit up Lone Star Pomade to get your fix.

Until the next time, folks.

Pomp Hard!

4 responses to “Pomade Review: Lone Star (Super)

  1. Unrelated, but I had a thought the other day…I’d like to get your take on an old classic: Brylcreem. I use it from time to time for a messier ‘do, as I have fairly think hair and it doesn’t seem to hold a real high pomp. Great shine, and for a simple part or slick I guess it’s okay. Have you ever used it? Not even a little…wait for it…dab? (See what I did there?)

    Great job as always though, brother!

    • I haven’t! I’ve been in the “works,” trying to get a trade down. But time and money is making the trade much more difficult to complete… for now…

      Hopefully within the first few months of the new year, I’ll have some UK Brylcreem to put to use!

  2. Hi which one is a better pomade lone star super hold or the normal one,I cant decide on either one of them.I am in a dilemma….

  3. I have used brylcreem a number of times. It truly is a cream and has a light hold. It also makes my hair noticably shiny. If used for a couple days straight, I get acne on my forehead. That may be avoided by a good ‘ol scrub every day with hot and soapy. I love the old fashioned smell AND THE COMERCIALS

Leave a Reply

