Pomade Review: Dr. Rubin’s Pomade (Medium)

With many pomade brands popping up, there’s competition coming from all angles. You’ve got the water based market, the heavy wax, greasy-grease, male specific pomade, women specific pomade, etcetera etcetera, this, that, the other thing and everything in between. And you know what, I DIG IT! I mean, who doesn’t dig a new pomade?

This pomade got some buzz within a small pomade-enthusiast group. I’ve contacted Rubin’s months prior to that buzz, but with no avail. After a few persistent fuckers in that group (not I, mind you,) kept pushin’ and pushin’, Jason and the folks at Dr. Rubin’s came through and everyone in that group had their pants fit tighter in anticipation for the mailman to come.

As soon as you look at the tin, you see the obviously self-printed, hand applied labels. It gives a real home-made feel to it. But, they do offer the pomade in an average sized tin, that’s printed on.

Opening it up, you get a whiff of a strong, classic, powdery scent. A very classic scent, which a lot of pomade brands don’t like to market anymore. Some dig it, most don’t. To me, you can’t go wrong with a classic scent!

They offer a firm, medium, and light hold. I happened to receive the medium hold.

Off the bat, looking at the greasy top layer in the tin, you can tell this stuff is a bit on the lighter end. It looks to be mostly petroleum-based. Scooping it out, you see that has more of a petroleum jelly consistency.


 
You don’t have to put any effort in softening this stuff up and applying it. It goes in nice and easy.

Now, having poor results from using Vaseline in the past, I wondered how this (mostly) petroleum-based product is gonna style. And to my surprise, it styled really well!

The stickiness of the product kept the hairs in place. It also had a relatively good hold, allowing me to style with some decent height. This was a very nice surprise!

The bigger test is the heat… Petroleum based products usually soften up a whole lot more when exposed to heat. This stuff being mostly petroleum-based, I figured it would soften up quite a bit. And I have to say, this stuff did just that…

In the heat, it softened up considerably, making the waves in my hair more wavy, yet, still kept everything in place. When my hair gets wavy, it has a more “authentic” 50s greaser look to it, so this wasn’t necessarily a bad thing! But you know how guys are with pomade, they prefer a product that doesn’t melt, do this or that and blah blah blah… Then again, those are usually guys with thick  hair that want big pomps.

One thing that surprised me about this stuff, was that it flaked after hopping out of the shower. Which surprised me, because this wasn’t a heavy wax nor is it heavily wax-based. So take note: This stuff may flake when your hair is not completely dried. So you guys who like to apply to damp hair, make sure your hair is a bit drier than usual.

Overall, I’m pleasantly surprised by Dr. Rubin’s.  While the product is on the lighter end of the medium pomade spectrum, it does hold the hair nicely, even after it melts. Personally, I think I may have benefitted more so from their heavier hold. But I dig what this medium stuff did for my hair, considering how long my hair is! If you’ve got thick, but shorter hair (than mine,) the medium hold may work out for you nicely. But, since they offer heavy, medium and lightweight holds, it probably wouldn’t hurt to venture out.

The guys are straight up cats who dig pomade, want to share it with the rest of us, and want to offer more than just pomade. So check em out and tell em I sent ya!

Big thanks again to Jason and the folks at Dr. Rubin’s. Til the next time folks.

Pomp Hard.

15 responses to “Pomade Review: Dr. Rubin’s Pomade (Medium)

  1. Mr. Hella isnt down to shave off the sides of his head… . … . . . .. .. . jk

  2. I ordered a sample back on your original post and it never came. When I emailed the company to ask if it was normal to take so long they never responded. I doubt that I’ll go out of my way for this one. I will say that if gives one hella slick gloss!

    • Sorry, should say, “I ordered a sample at the time of your original post…”

    • Mike,

      Yeah. It took a few people contacting them, until they got around to shipping out some samples. This is obviously their side project, but in no means does it mean they should put people on the back burner.

      Shoot them a direct message on their Facebook. They reply faster through there, as that’s where they got a majority of their “fan base.” That’s also how I (eventually) got through to them.

      I mean, MONTHS later after my initial attempt to contact them, did they come through. But, at least they came through, unlike a lot of other brands out there. Nearly a YEAR for some of em!

  3. Hey Mike,
    It def takes us some time to send out samples! We’ve been sending ’em out like crazy, but as Jan would tell ya, we’ve been gettin burned a whoooooole lot by peeps who don’t really have the best intentions….I know there are real folks who would love to try our pomade, and we’re still trying to figure out a good solution to find who is legit and who’s just moochin’.

    Anyway after that nice little paragraph, we’ll send you a sample ASAP. Thanks 4 yer interest Mike!

  4. They make a good pomade, one of my new faves now. They’re downright nice guys. Give them another chance, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

  5. Mike,
    i order a while ago too but i see wat Dr. Ruben is sayin u cant send it to those fuckin moochers but it kinda sucks because i really want to try some of this and hopefully be a loyal costumer but im just gonna have to be patient and wait

  6. I ordered and paid for the “firm” hold, and so far it feels like “medium” as opposed to “firm”. The texture was very creamy in scooping it out of the jar, the pomade smells of coconut oil, which does give a very nice shine to the hair but the hold, I have experienced better.

    • I’ve heard from a few folks that their batches seem to be (for a lack of better words) fucked up. The light stuff was as hard as wax, petrolatum being separated from the wax, etc etc. It may be from the flood of orders they had and tried to fill. I’d give them the benefit of the doubt. But, if that type of QC occurs anytime down the line, I’m sure they’ll have more than a few less customers.

      • I’ll give this baby another try at some point, but the pomade is misleading because it is billed as being firm hold, when it is only medium. The smell is awesome despite this.

      • I think they messed up during their sale. I know quite a few other cats had the same issue from their sale bought pomades and others during their non-sale bought pomades. (In no way am I saying it’s acceptable.) I don’t know if they’re willing to correct the issue or not. Could always give them the benefit of the doubt, and email them. If anything, at least other cats will know what they can expect from this brand.

  7. i also tried the firm hold ant it was solid like a rock! my hair is very wavy and it strained it right out. Pomped amazingly and held up while pulling carts in 90 degree heat (i work at coscto). Prolly just got screwed by a labeling error man :/

Leave a Reply

