Why I Fuckin’ LOVE Rockabilly!

Man, don’t you just love it?

There are many aspects to rockabilly that makes it amazing… You’ve got the rockin’ music, the badass cars, the coolest threads, and some of the hottest babes. Wouldn’t you agree? To top it all off, you got some of the coolest cats from all over the world, who dig the exact same stuff you do, and are willing to go out of their way to share it.

You can meet complete strangers while thrifting for clothes, talk about an entire era while hunting for CDs, or hell, even talk about pomade and pompadours! It’s one aspect that I dig about rockabilly, is that you can have such an extensive conversation with a complete stranger, and then somehow, end up being good friends with them.

While at VLV14 this past April, they apparently had some promo combs that they were giving out. Now, I say apparently, because I totally missed out on these while I was there! Having kept my nose and wallets in front of the music vendors the whole trip, I missed out on them. But fortunately, as rockabilly does, it somehow brought one of these combs to my doorstep. Not from a local cat, not even from someone within North America! But from a cat who has the same common interest, all the way from FRANCE! Crazy, right?

He had seen that I missed out on a comb, asked for my shipping info without asking for any compensation, and went out and shipped the comb. Now, while it’s not like he sent me a box of pomade (wink wink, just kidding, bud!) it’s the thought that counts! Let me tell ya, not too many folks are kind enough to even offer to sell one of their novelty items!

I am very grateful for the kindness of this fellow, and will definitely be drinking with this guy, the next time around!

Had to tease with that ice cream bar box, didn’t ya??? Could’ve slipped one or two of those in there, while you were at it, haha. (Kidding BTW, sort of…)

See you there next year, right?

Maybe we’ll meet sooner, if not, there’s always Vegas, baby!

Big thanks again, I’m sure there are a few folks on here that know this cat. If you all know Fred, buy him a round for me until I get to, yeah? Thanks again Fred, I appreciate it and owe you one, buddy!

3 responses to “Why I Fuckin’ LOVE Rockabilly!

  1. You did’nt get the ice cream, so? I guess something must have gone wrong with the postman….
    See you in Vegas, the first round (of drinks!!!) will be on you….

  2. This is rad. Real community.

Leave a Reply

