Shampoo Review: Johnny B.

I lied, again. I said I wasn’t gonna review anything from Johnny B. until AFTER Vegas. Socrates at Johnny B. was kind enough to throw in some shampoo for me to sample and review as well. Obviously, their shampoo is made to wash their pomades out. Since I had a over a weeks worth of regular hair grease built up, why not see how well it washes out the heavy stuff! 

There’s been a lot of talk about what washes pomade out the best, everyones little remedies and what not, this that and the other thing. I’ve heard and tried it all. Why not look for a product that currently out there, that could wash out the old school stuff? Hey, it beats having to waste perfectly good peanut butter!

Their logo, is pretty simple. Got a guy sporting what looks to be a pompadour, Johnny B. across the front, and a description of the product below. Since I got samples, it doesn’t have too much text.

Now, I’ve never heard of, nor tried a shampoo paste. So my first impression of the consistency, was thinking that it would be sort of like… Well, toothpaste! But I was very surprised when I actually touched it.

Opening it up, was very, very pleasant…

As soon as you open it up, you get a nice whiff of mint. And if you folks have ever seen me around, you’ll see that I’m eating an Altoid every other second. Don’t ask me why, but I’m addicted to mints! So smelling a minty shampoo, is pretty fuckin awesome!

When you look at it, it looks a whole lot like marshmellow fluff. With a marshmellow fluff look and minty aroma, I’m sure I could trick some people into eating it. But being a nice guy, I’m not gonna do that. Would be a funny story though, right?

For me, I do a dry shampoo when I plan on washing out some pomade. I’m not talking about that waterless crap you see on tv. I’m talking about putting the shampoo in your hair, before you wet it. For whatever scientific reason, it just works better. After putting the product in my hair, I would slightly dampen my hair, work up a lather, then let it sit. Then, as the foam would dissipate, dampen my hair again, lather then rinse. Repeat if necessary.

When I did this with the Johnny B. shampoo, as soon as I rinsed it out I had a minty tingle goin’ on, on my head. And man, let me tell ya… It felt pretty fuckin good! I’m not used to that kind of stuff, but it’s one hell of a feeling! And a good one at that!

After lathering up once more with the Johnny B. shampoo, I was suprised to see how much pomade this stuff was actually able to wash out!

Being used to the whole dish soap, olive oil, blah blah blah way to wash out pomade, I was pretty amazed. While it didn’t completely wash it out, and let’s get this straight fellas, you’re never gonna wash out a pomade in one go! Suck it! It ain’t happening! I can bet you still have a bit of pomade in your hair, because you can’t tell the difference anymore.

But since it was able to wash out a decent amount of pomade out… And for me, decent amount means almost a weeks worth of pomade build up! I can honestly say this has been the best shampoo I’ve tried out so far, that can wash out a good amount of pomade, without having to comb it out!

I know what I plan on picking up after VLV and that’s gonna be some of their shampoo paste! So head onto their online shop, and check it out!

Now, the prices for their shampoo is kind of up there. $11.99 for a 4oz. tube and $21.99 for a 16oz. jar. If you’re the type of person who washes out their pomade every day, it could be a little pricey. But for someone like me, who would use this stuff every other week or so, it’s not bad at all.

So if you’re looking for a good, modern shampoo to wash out pomade, this is definitely one worth checking out.

There you have it, folks. My first review on Johnny B. hair products.
Johnny B. So far, so good!

Stay tuned, I have 4 of their hair styling products to review, on top of some other pomades!

Until the next time.

Pomp Hard.

7 responses to “Shampoo Review: Johnny B.

  1. I know you said you completely wash out the pomade every week or so, but what do you do in between the week? Do you just use water to wash your hair, or do you just use your normal shampoo?

    • Vergil,

      I just use water. If, at any time do I not want want that much pomade in my hair, during the week, I’ll comb some pomade out.

      – Jan

      • Thanks for the reply! I hate to spam your blog with questions, but I can’t help my self.

        Are there any advantages to water soluble pomades, other than the obvious of it being easier to wash out? I’m perfectly happy with my non water soluble pomades, but I don’t know if I’d be missing out on anything.

  2. Hey, if you’re interested in getting old school stuff out, you can use groom and clean, it’s like a water based version of brylcream, you can use it to style but it’s better to soften stuff like Murray’s or Dax (red can). They don’t bill it as a shampoo but it acts like an emulsifier so you can get Murray’s out in 2 or 3 washes instead of 7-10.

    • Mike,

      Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve been meaning to check it out, but haven’t made time to pick some up.

      One of my reasons for checking out Johnny B. was to show the pomade market, that there’s good products that are out there, that aren’t necessarily “made by rockabilly folks for rockabilly folks.” It’s products like these, that you usually would walk past at a shop, that will open your eyes and surprise you. In a good way, at that!

      – Jan

  3. Ive heard of one called bluemagic that supposedly gives a really greasy shine…

Leave a Reply

