Finding The Right Barber

One thing cats who rock the pomp need, aside from good pomade, is an excellent barber. Without a proper cut, your hair, for a lack of a better word, will look like shit. Bad styling doesn’t help either.

While all the vintage barber chairs, straight razor shaves, and PBR are cool to see in shops, but in the end, they are what they are… Gimmicks. Just like your old G.I. Joe with its Kung Fu grip or your original Megatron that shot out pellets, they’re simply gimmicks. I’m not saying gimmicks are bad in any way, hell, I fuckin LOVE Transformers, that in itself is a gimmick! But, gimmicks don’t always mean that the shop is the best you’ll ever find.

For instance, take my first impression on Golden Shears Barbershop. While they had vintage chairs and old muskets up on the wall, they weren’t the most professional of folks, nor the kindest. And you know what? First impressions are pretty damn important, especially when it comes to potential clientelle. They won’t be getting my vote!

Though my guy works at a salon, yes… A salon, he has many years of barbering under his belt.

From helping out at his fathers barbershop back in the 50s and owning his own barbershop in the past, it’s safe to say this guy knows hair.

He’s your typical barber that you would’ve seen decades ago. Just, in a salon. But that doesn’t stop him from shooting the shit with ya while snooty women get their hair colored. Trust me, he doesn’t hold back! Boob talk, stories about how he’s known Bruce Lee, to meeting Priscilla Presley since he knew her post Elvis hubby, he’s got plenty of stories to tell. All that could last for hours, had they been told at his own shop.

Though I was unhappy with my haircut by him in the past, I still trust him with my hair. It wasn’t that it was a bad cut, he had cut it shorter than I had wanted, at the time. And this time around, he still did an excellent job.

Fresh out of the shower.

Quickly styled up.

So while vintage looking shops are fun, you still can’t beat an old man who has been cutting hair since he was a kid! As much as I love those kinds of shops, Leonard is still my go to guy for haircuts. Finding him to cut my hair, truly is like finding a diamond-in-the-rough. And when you find the right barber to cut your hair, you know you’ll be lookin good as soon as you step out.

Knowing he’s a kid of the 50s-60s,  I asked him about different kinds of pomade, pompadours, and all that jazz… But that’s another post 😉

10 responses to “Finding The Right Barber

  1. Hey man I really enjoy reading your blog.
    What kind of cut do you ask for at the barbers? Is it a low to medium taper/fade all around the sides and back?

    • Hey Alex,

      Glad ya like the blog!

      Oddly enough, I don’t really have to ask him much when it comes to my hair. He just asks me if I’m gonna keep any length, if I’m going to D.A. and how I want the back to be. I don’t need to go into any specifics, because I trust his judgment.

      Here’s a pro-tip: If you see a particular cut you want, print it out and show your stylist. It’s a lot easier for them to base what you want from a picture, than you just describing it. Unless you’ve already formed some sort of relationship with your stylist. Then they’d be able to sort of figure out how you do your hair and how short/long you like it.

      Hope this helps.

      – Jan

  2. Dude, I’m amped to read that post about “different kinds of pomade, pompadours, and all that jazz”.

  3. Jerry Revelez

    A lot of modern barbers, unfortunately, seem to be all about the hype but not the service. People having found a new interest in all things vintage keep these guys afloat. Kinda like a tattoo artist that’s a dick but people still go to him/her because they’re a tattoo artist. Like it’s an automatic pass to being cool while continuing to be a total jerk. Not for me, man. I, myself, get my cuts from this girl that is talented, flexible, hip BUT genuinely nice to me. She treats me right and always makes sure I leave with the right cut. I love traditional barbering but they should include a class on customer appreciation in barber school.

  4. Jerry Revelez

    Forgot to add….I’ve read about a shop in Cali called El Catrin Barbershop (Suavecito Pomade). They seem all about the people they serve. It’d be interesting to know if that were true.

  5. Been going to the same old-skool barber for nearly 14 yrs , would never switch.
    Enjoying the blog.
    Cheers, Dom

  6. I’ve been going to Mr Ducktail since he moved to London. He’s a great bloke but he’s getting incredibly popular. Some guy went there last Saturday and waited 8 hours!

Leave a Reply

