February 3, 2011.

I don’t know how many of you cats noticed, but I’m not one to celebrate a death anniversary. I mean, it should be obvious, or else I would’ve made posts about Ricky Nelson or Jackie Wilson. It’s not my thing and that’s just I roll.

But, when it comes to something like this, where 3 artists were lost, I mean… It’s a must. Especially considering how young two of them were. Well, all three, but Ritchie Valens and Buddy Holly were really young.

For me, this type of tragedy really helps put things into perspective.

Think about it. Buddy Holly was 23 and Ritchie Valens was 18. When you take a look and see where you were at that age, and see what you’ve done so far, it’s sad to think how much they all could’ve done, given a few more extra years. For the younger cats, it’s just a couple of years, but for the older folks, it’s quite a few.

But, as fate would have it, they were taken at a point in their life where the only way they were moving was forward. Which is a good thing, as it would really put a different perspective on these guys, had they been in any “scandals” and or let themselves go, ie Elvis. But, they were at their prime, how they will always be remembered.

Anyways.

Here’s a few of my favorite songs from them all. There are a few that aren’t on youtube, so I’ma have to figure out how I’m gonna upload it from my library.

Enjoy.

The Big Bopper – Walking Through My Dreams

Ritchie Valens – Come On Let’s Go

Buddy Holly & The Crickets – Maybe Baby

I’ll be posting a few more songs up on my tumblr, so head over there later on and check em out.

2 responses to “February 3, 2011.

  1. Caterpillarnut

    Waylon Jennings, the Country music legend, was almost on that flight too. He gave his seat over to The Big Bopper. According to his autobiography, Buddy Holly jokingly told Jennings “I hope your ol’ bus freezes up!” to which Waylon joked back “Well I hope your ol’ plane crashes!”. That haunted the hell out of him for years.

Leave a Reply

