Recap: The Harvest Moon Hop 11/21/2010

Last night was The Harvest Moon Hop. Slim Jenkins, The B Stars, and The Hi Rhythm Hustlers were playing some good music for everyone to swing to. And as I’ve said before, The Hi Rhythm Hustlers put on a great show, and last night they did not disappoint.

We missed The B Stars perform, and most of Slim Jenkins, but the stuff that we caught was enjoyable. Their Western get ups made my friend want one of the shirts. Which for me, will always remind me of:

We we’re quickly greeted by Christina, from the night before. She is definitely a doll, and it was really nice of her to come up and chat with my lady for a bit, and invite us to sit with their table.
Not long after, my lady recognized someone who works at a nearby Sephora. And of course, they kicked it off, as well and we sat with Lisa and Victoria. No offense to Christina, but they had an empty table!

The night was great, a whole bunch of people swingin’ and jivin’. But as Christina pointed out, was that the crowd was rather ‘old.’ Which it was. The crowd seemed to be more so the people who take swing dancing classes, and come out to practice their moves and experiment, rather than the usual rockabilly crowd. Which wasn’t a bad thing. Except an old lady fell over pretty damn hard. I heard the thud from across the room!

The only drawback at Verdi Club, is that the beer is all the same price. I’m a beer guy, and I’d rather drink a beer over a mixed drink. The beer is not exactly the cheapest. For $5 for beer like Anchor Steam and Fat Tire, it’s not too bad. But then when you charge the same price for Corona, it kind of puts a damper on that. I mean, I’ll enjoy a Corona, but seeing it priced the same as Anchor Steam, makes it seem as if I’m paying too much for it. Especially since they’re priced the same as a Jack and Coke or a Whiskey Sour. Maybe I’m too used to drinking PBR. Oh well. It’s still a good venue.

My highlight of the night was getting a compliment from Lisa, saying I had perfect hair. As we were leaving, Tanoa recognized us from the night before and came introduce himself. He too, complimented my hair from seeing it the night before. And I’m sure he has seen plenty of pomps, so of course it was a big compliment. Unfortunately, I had to be up early the next day, so we couldn’t stop and have a drink with him. But there will be a next time.

It was another great night, brought to you by A-Town Agency.

Hope to be catchin’ ya’ll at some of these events, sometime.

2 responses to “Recap: The Harvest Moon Hop 11/21/2010

  1. Hey there. Thanks so much for posting about The Hi-Rhythm Hustlers and The Harvest Moon Hop. Sounds like you had a good time!!

    We look forward to having you at our future shows!

    ~Rockin’

Leave a Reply

