Pet Peeves: Re-Blogging Trends

It’s gonna sound like a whole lot of useless bitching. But really, this is what makes one blog different than another…

Nothing bugs me more, than bloggers who don’t know the origin of whatever it is they’re posting. No, not the source. But the actual content of their posts. That’s why I keep the blogroll to very few blogs. And none of them are really rockabilly blogs!

No hate to this blog, but seriously, please know who or whatever it is you are posting. It’s easy to find pin up girls online and post their names and such, or pictures of dudes with pompadours or quiffs, but it doesn’t matter when you have no idea what you’re posting, and that other blogs are posting the exact same content with the exact same lack of knowledge! Phew. That was long.

Even though this is an isolated post, I am not hating this blog.

But, if you’re gonna post a picture of someone famous from the 50s, at least know who the hell they are!

http://fuckyeahrockabilly.tumblr.com/post/1095904722/hi

And I know you have no idea who he is, or else you would’ve tagged him, as you did with Elvis. But this here, is Dennis Hopper. How can you not know this??? I know that with reblogging there’s a whole lot of lack of information and what not… But this is fuckin Dennis Hopper! You’ve seen Easy Rider? Apocalypse Now? If you’re a rockabilly blog, I know you’ve seen A Rebel Without A Cause, right? DENNIS HOPPER.

I’m touchy about this type of shit (not about Dennis Hopper, but knowing what yous be blogging about!,) because well… It’s almost like a right of passage to blog or talk about rockabilly or anything of the 1950s-60s. Why? Because that is exactly what rockabilly is. Reviving the lifestyle from the 50s and 60s and reliving it now in modern day times. It’s living as if Eddie Cochran was still on the radio. It’s not just nostalgia, it’s living in the moment. And that moment is of the 50s and 60s. So if you’re claiming to live in those moments, and not know who the hell these people are, then what are you doing???

Oh and what the hell is Man Pin Up???

I don’t claim to know more than this person or that person, but whatever I talk or blog about, I know what the hell I’m talking about! 

So please, for all the rockabilly, pin-up, or victory roll bloggers out there, who just started blogging last month, please… Edit your tags, know who the hell you’re posting or blogging about, and maybe I’ll follow you on tumblr. 

But until then, BLOGBEEEEEEFFFFF… Just kidding, I don’t dislike your blogs, I enjoy the boobies and buns you all post. But please do as a wise man once said…

I go crazy when I hear a cymbal
And a hi-hat with a souped up tempo
I’m on a roll and it’s time to go solo

Rollin’!”

– Vanilla

2 responses to “Pet Peeves: Re-Blogging Trends

  1. Hahah ‘blogbeef!’
    Dude, tumblr is the LAND of ignorantly reblogging things and not giving credit. It sucks!! But it’s also a land of visuals, so if something looks cool, people tend to reblog it just cause it looks cool, not because of what it actually IS, if that makes sense.

    Anyway, I think you are supercool! I love your blog 😀

    • Hey Bryony, thanks for the insight and kind words! I really appreciate it.

      I don’t dislike those rockabilly tumblrs, but they’re all the same, so there isn’t a reason to follow any of them, cuz you’re not missing out on anything, really.

      It’s true, tumblr is all about reblogging. Which is the main reason why I chose to blog here on wordpress, rather than tumblr, where people could reblog my content and claim it as their own. Although, I do have a tumblr for my other random content, such as “Creepin Up On Creepers.” Definitely check that out, if you have a good sense of humor 🙂

      If people took me as an asshole on the internet, imagine what they would think of me as a person. That would suck.

      But, everyone’s an asshole once in a while haha.

      Again, thanks for the insight and kind words.

      – Jan

Leave a Reply

