Pomade Review: Layrite Super Hold Deluxe Pomade

Apologies for the personal ranting yesterday. But hey, that’s what blogs are for! On with the show…

So… I usually like to use a pomade for at least 2 days, but this stuff has really given my first impression, a deep impression… Sounds od.

Unlike most of the “greaser” pomades, this stuff comes in a plastic twist-top container. I’d assume that if they had used tin instead, it would up the price of their pomade a bit more. It doesn’t change the quality of their product though! I happened to get mine with a few air pockets under the sticker labels. Sucks.

Layrite Super HoldYou look at the container and the logo, and see their own designs and sayings. The gold trim on the side (not pictured) is a nice touch. One thing I wonder about, is why they chose the collor palette that they did. Brown and Yellow for the Super Hold, and swiched around for the regular one. Now, for the real first impression... For me, the way I get a first impression from a pomade, is by looking at it's consistency, without actually touching. You can really tell how a pomade will perform, by looking at it. But this stuff, well... It's a whole 'nother story...Layrite

 As soon as I took a look at this stuff, I thought it would be more so a gel, than a pomade… somewhat similar to Grant’s. Even though Layrite did come out before Grant’s. The bright orange color took me by surprise and so did the little “crusty-ness” around the edges. I had always thought that this stuff was yellow-ish. I guess that’s for the regular hold?
I didn’t really smell too much from this stuff, from the start. My girlfriend noticed a nice little scent, but nothing too extreme. Time to get our feet wet…

Sort of looking like gel?

Thinking that it sort of looks like Grant’s, I scooped some out. As I was taking a couple of finger tips of this stuff, it started to really reveal itself. Scooping it out sort of felt like a mix between gel and a pomade. It was gathering up like a gel, but scooped up like a pomade. Weird right? As I start to mix this stuff into my palms, it showed a side of it that no one really explained… It spread evenly and easily like a gel, but felt like a pomade right after it was spread. The hell… THIS SHIT IS CRAAAAZY… My hair was wet when I put it in, that’s just how I roll. Most say to apply it to dry hair, but hell with that.
Knowing that it is washable, I was skeptical whether or not this stuff will comb right out or actually work. Started to slick my comb through, everything went smooth and all. Now to test the hold. Tried to pomp up high, but alas… My hair was a little too wet to really let this stuff hold. Got a decent sized pomp with this stuff though.

Here’s a quick pomp. Nothing amazing, I was just supposed to be out the door almost 10 minutes before this picture was taken.

Now for the real test… We went out, got coffee, ran some errands, ate breakfast, drove around with the windows down, blah blah blah…

“This hair ain’t movin my dude!” Is a fact. Even with the windows down, my hair didn’t move all that much. Still maintained a pomp. Of course, had to comb it to get it to looking smooth and all, but it didn’t split in half, part or anything. And usually, pomade seems to dry out when I have the window rolled down.
This stuff did slightly harden. Maybe it was because I still had some left over pomade, but it did slightly harden. Even so, I was still able to run a comb through it. No flakes, nothing. This is a pretty badass pomade, if others haven’t said so already. To top it all off, the scent this stuff has, is amazing. It doesn’t really come out, until after everything has settled. It has a strong vanilla scent, that has everyone drawn to it. My friend and girlfriend were trying to figure out where the strong scent was coming from. And of course, it was from my hair…

I have to say, Donnie Hawley really knew what he was doing when he made this stuff. The only thing that this stuff really lacks, is sheen. Even though it says “Hy-Sheen” on the lid, it doesn’t leave you with that much of a sheen. Nothing really else to say about this stuff…

Am I gonna convert and drop all of the other pomades out there for this one single brand, I don’t think so. Only because I love variety. But will I buy this stuff again? Yeah I will, and probably the 32oz one this time!

 You can get this stuff from The Grease Shop, or even over at Hawleywoods online shop. Go and check it out, and try it. It won’t disappoint you. It sure hasn’t disappointed me.

11 responses to “Pomade Review: Layrite Super Hold Deluxe Pomade

  1. hey i was wondering an im sure you got this alot. how would you compare layrite to grants. i understand that grants has more sheen? what do you think about the two going head to head.

    • Layrite is a couple of steps ahead of Grant’s.

      I frequently compare the two, as they are two water soluble pomades. But they are quite different. As is Fiber Grease, but that stuffs Japanese.

      Layrite has a better hold, in that it’ll straighten out your hair and hold it down.

      Grant’s has left the wave in my hair and doesn’t hold down the side hairs as well as Layrite does.

      Sheen wise, they both don’t really have a sheen. If you comb it, after you’ve styled it up, it’ll make your hair look completely matte.

      With Layrite being considerably cheaper than Grant’s, as well as having better properties, it’s pretty easy to favor Layrite over Grant’s.

      Don’t get me wrong, I use both equally and like em both, but for the general public who are looking for one or the other, Layrite will be the leading pomade, in the water soluble pomade category.

  2. This stuff is excellent. Surprised you didn’t notice the smell, it has a coconut/vanilla smell to me.
    Only drawbacks I’ve found:
    1) Price. It aint cheap.
    2) It dries out in the tin over time. What you’re left with is stiff grainy putty, which leaves mega flakes in your hair. I’ve had moderate success adding more water to the tin and mixing it up, but never quite the same as when its fresh.
    3) It dries out your hair. I guess its fine if you wash it out before you go to bed, but if not I’ve noticed breakage.

    Great reviews, some greases i’d never heard of here.

    • Hey man,

      I could’ve sworn I mentioned something about the scent! Maybe I did on a forum and not my blog. But the scent is phenomenal! Definitely richer than any of the other pomades out there. My lady was able to smell it two store aisles away!

      The price is definitely a drawback. Especially considering using this everyday, you could go throw a 32oz tub in just a couple of months. Hopefully Hawleywoods could figure a way to make it more affordable. I mean, if I were more affordable, people would buy the product much more often, still giving them crazy good sales. Maybe even bump up the sales.

      Glad you were able to find more pomade through my site.

      – Jan

  3. I have been using Layrite for abour 7 or 8 years. I started using pomade with the original Tres Flores, lol, old cholo stuff. But I veer away from Layrite every now and again because of the price, but man I keep going back to it. I got tired of not being able to wash out my hair everyday with regular pomade. I love this blog man, keep up the good work.

  4. This was one of the first pomades I used that would hold my super fine, straight hair while still being able to easily comb it into a pomp. I really like it since it holds up well even with me putting on and taking off a hat all day long (military). They also shipped quickly overseas. I put it in dry and then spray my hair a bit to make it a bit more manageable for me. I picked this stuff up before discovering your blog and now I just ordered some Mr. Ducktail thanks to your review. I’m pretty excited to try it out, but I know layrite will always be a back up if not a while on duty staple.

  5. Pingback: Pomade Review: Layrite (Super Shine) | The Rebel Rouser

  6. Man, I love LayRite and I have to say it is expensive. I love everything about it but the price. I’m 15 and my Mom doesn’t pay me for getting stuff done around the house like rich families do, but I do get about $200-300 every year for my birthday and I’m not too sure if I can afford purchasing the $15 container over and over. At this very moment I have only one half-scoop in my container. I currently have no backup except for Moco de Gorila: Galan which is gel that is bad for your hair supposedly and only gives it sheen. Is there any other similar yet cheaper brand with about as much pomade??

  7. What do you think of Shiner Gold compared to Layrite?

Leave a Reply

