The jacket that has eluded me over the years…

Is none other than the one and only Schott Perfecto. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve wanted one.

I’ve even considered buying:

1) A Halloween Costume Jacket. I’m sorry, but I was cheap then.
2) A random womens one in the Philippines. Don’t ask. It was there, I tried it on, I don’t know.

But after trying this past weekend thrifting in San Francisco, I’ve given up on the search. The only jacket that I managed to find this weekend, was a size 42 Vanson. It was heavier than any jacket I’ve ever ran into, and was small as hell. Plus it was $300, and missing a belt. No way.

So after giving up on thrifting for one, I went to ebay for the last time. Only to find beat old up perfectos. As much as I appreciate wear and tear when it comes to clothing, this is something I need in a decent condition. So I would be able to my own wear and tear in it. Ebay had nothing for me. Sigh.

After giving up on ebay, I went to one place I haven’t tried in a few months. Craigslist. And to my surprise, there was one posting, for a size 46 Schott Perfecto.

Gave the guy an email, and waited impatiently over Labor Day. The next morning, I got an email, a few calls were made, and I was on my way to finally having that one staple I’ve wanted for so long…

Schott Perfecto

I was able to come to the conclusion, that this is an early 1980s perfecto. Oh well, not the same as a 50s or 60s, but it’s ok. I finalfuckinly have one, and that’s all that I really care about.

One way to identify the make, is that there is a Motorcycle rider on the tag, rather than a Bull. There is also now a white tag on the left, with MADE IN USA and the size. The cuff zippers are noticeably shorter. Almost half. It also has YKK on the main zip.

It is complete, with no seam tears, no missing buttons or removed belt, only maybe about one scrape, and not one from a fall either. The jacket is in perfect condition, to put my own wear and tear in. And I am fuckin stoked. Fit pics to come.

I’m not a cornball, I wear my clothes and don’t leave them in the closet. Luckily for me, the weather just got colder. Time to break this bad boy out “ASAFP.”

Leave a Reply

