FRIDAY COCKTAILS!

Personally, I’m a whiskey or beer kind of guy. If anything, a nice Long Island will always hit the spot.

Even though later on I am heading out for some drinks, for a pals birthday, this post isn’t about alcohol!

After my reviews on different individual pomades, I’ve done experimenting with different mix and matches. Or as they would call it in the hair business, “cocktails.” Ahhhhh now the title makes sense, eh?

First mix I’ve tried…

Murray’s Superior and Grant’s Golden Brand.

Murray’s on it’s own, is a very stiff product. But when you mix a lighter product like Grant’s, it softens up the Murray’s, changing up its consistency in your hair.
As mentioned in the Gran’ts review, this stuff hardens. So no matter which pomade you mix with, you will get a hardened result. This wasn’t my mix of choice. But when I had a couple day old amount of Murray’s in my hair, the Grant’s was a nice touch to bring it to shape.

I also tried Murray’s with Royal Crown. Typical mix, since you often see both of these products side by side at the grocery store. Whatever you mix with Royal Crown, you don’t need equal parts of the Royal Crown pomade. This will weigh your hair down a considerable amount. Not my favorite mix, since the extra light consistency of the Royal Crown, pretty much broke apart the Murray’s, this didn’t do any good for my pompadour.
And since I said that the water based Sweet Georgia Brown, was just like Royal Crown, it pretty much falls under the same cocktail. But the Sweet Georgia Brown has a grape scent to it.

Sweet Georgia Brown (blue can) and what I thought would be a good mixer, DAX wave and groom, was surprisingly NOT a good mix. The semi lightness of the Sweet Georgia Brown, mixed with the medium consistency of the DAX, didn’t work as well as I had originally hoped for. Pretty much just added dead weight to my hair.

And last, but not least. The one cocktail that yielded amazing results…

Murray’s Superior and Sweet Georgia Brown (blue can.)
Equal amounts of both, gave me great hold, a decent amount of extra volume, sheen, and the great grape smell. And if you are mixing different pomades, you most likely are mixing, because you’re wanting your hair to look extraordinary for a night out. So the assisted grape scent is always a plus. This stuff is a hit, probably my favorite “pomade” to put into my hair, aside from DAX by itself.

I also seen someone mix Black and White pomade with Sweet Georgia Brown, and have amazing results. But I haven’t been able to find any around here in the Bay Area. Maybe someone would like to proxy some for me???

4 responses to “FRIDAY COCKTAILS!

  1. Pingback: “This hair ain’t movin my dude!” | The Rebel Rouser

  2. Pingback: Deciding Which Pomade Is The Right Pomade | The Rebel Rouser

  3. Pingback: Traveling Light… | The Rebel Rouser

  4. I’ve found that Murray’s superior and American crew make an awesome cocktail

Leave a Reply

