ROCKABILLY FEVER!!!

I know Rockabilly has been around, and has hit high end fashion and what not… It’s made subtle appearances in movies and TV shows… But as of late, it’s really been hitting mainstream, everything…

Just the other day, walking through the mall to head to the Apple Store, my girlfriend noticed a HUGE pomp… The store GUESS had a major “greaser” styled model with a big fluffy pompadour.

Guess is the most rockabilly store out there!

Don’t mind my friend, he doesn’t understand “Watch out, I’m taking a picture.”
The mannequins were styled with “chambray,” plaid prints and leather jackets. Never been a fan of GUESS, so I ddn’t want to stand infront of this place taking pictures.

Rockabilly is also at corporate STARBUCKS! Every now and then, I’d take a look at the “cool new” cds Starbucks have. Hey, sometimes they have something catchy! But today we noticed something that pertains to this here blog.

EDDIE COCHRAN! Not really, it was just him three times on the cover of “LET’S GO! That Rockabilly Rhythm” Even though they had him on the cover, he wasn’t listed on the front sticker!

LET’s GO!

Not a bad mix of artists, I suppose… Johnny Cash, Elvis, Carl Perkins, The Everly Brothers, and obviously, Eddie Cochran, just to name a few.

I already have most of the songs on my iPhone, so there was no need to have this CD. But, if you want to get your taste of good ol 1950s-1960s Rock & Roll, this wouldn’t be a bad place to start.

I, personally prefer this era of rockabilly, as opposed to rockabilly of today. But if it’s good music I could tap my toes to, then why not?

Here, I leave you all with Carl Perkins – Rockabilly Fever.

2 responses to “ROCKABILLY FEVER!!!

  1. And here I thought it was only me that noticed Rockabilly creeping back into the mainstream. There’s been some recognition of guys like Setzer, James Burton, and Cliff Gallup in guitar magazines as of late. Do I smell another revival?

    • Quite a revival indeed!

      Unfortunately, it’s also taken notice by some folks who just want to be “in the scene” and don’t know anything about it’s history. Also by some companies that would like to “exploit” the cool factor.

      Just wait down the road and we’ll see how far the mainstream attention takes rockabilly…

      – Jan

Leave a Reply

