Top 3 Ways To Wash Out Pomade.

When it comes to pomade, there’s a two way street: various ways of putting this shit in your hair and various ways of taking this shit out of your hair. Some are typical, many are funky. I mean funky! From vinegar and baking soda, to actual soda…yeah, everyone has their preference. You might use a family tradition or just need that state of mind of how your hair feels afterwards, regardless of product you use. Whatever method that’s out there, I’ve tried most of them. I’d say all, but I never tried peanut butter (because it’s the oils that breaks down the grease!) So, after many hours spent in the shower and money spent on random ingredients, here are my top 3 ways to washing out pomade!

3) Dax Removing Shampoo:

When it comes to “degreasing shampoos’” I’ve been very hesitant to try em out. Why? Because quite frankly, a lot of them do jack shit when washing out pomade! Many store bought shampoos are developed to wash out their own styling products, and most of those styling products don’t meet the expectations (FUCKIN GREASE) for the most of us. Fortunately, Dax Removing Shampoo is one of the few shampoos that actually cut the grease out and does it pretty damn well! I’ve only had to put this shampoo my hair twice (three times, at most) to thoroughly wash out a heavy pomade. And by thoroughly, I don’t mean any pomade residue left! Not too shabby! It’s definitely a treat to finally find a legitimate shampoo that gets the job done.

The reason this is number three, is because of the price and availability. Of course, you can buy it online, but not everyone likes to go that route, especially moi. Locally, it’s not that readily available – I’ve only came across 2-3 shops that had this shampoo and it was $10+/-. Since you won’t need to use heaping globs of it to wash your pomade out, and you probably won’t be using this on a day-to-day basis, having a bottle or two on hand will go a long way. So, if you do end up buying this, use it days you want to thoroughly wash your hair out, like the week you get a haircut or something. As it is, I don’t recommend washing your hair with a shampoo every day, anyways…

2) Suave’s Groom & Clean:

To the many people who suggested this stuff to me, I thank you. This is easily one of the best standalone products to cut the grease out. Not only does it cut out the grease, with ease, it’s also (first and foremost) a styling product, which surprisingly, styles really well.  It’s a greaseless, lightweight styling product, which will give you nice subtle pomps or killer slick backs. It’s also one of the few products that lets your hair effortlessly blend in. If you want a killer ducktail, try this stuff out! Not only are you cutting grease out of your hair, you’re also able to go out with your hair styled, all at the same time! Now you don’t have to be a hermit on your “off” days.

While I did say it’s one of the best standalone product to cut out pomade, it just barely falls short of being in the number one spot…

1) Olive Oil + Dish Soap.

[Do you really wanna see what kind of olive oil and dish soap I have? If so, go to Costco.]

Now, while the other products on the list make washing out pomade a breeze, there’s a very specific reason why this combo falls into the number one slot – everyone has it. When people scramble to find a can of soda to wash their hair, or say “fuck this peanut butter sandwich, I wanna wash my hair,” they look past some of the most basic components in their kitchen. I mean, look at your kitchen now, you know where your dish soap and olive oil is, don’t ya? While the oil in peanut butter will cut out grease, there’s no reason to opt. for a head of peanut butter, over a tablespoon of olive oil and a couple of lathers of dish soap. And no matter what people say, no, this shit ain’t bad for your hair! You ever see those commercials, where they use it to wash crude oil off of ducklings? If a baby duck won’t ruffle their feathers over dish soap, I’m pretty damn sure you’ll be alright using this stuff to degrease. *ba-dum-dum-TSH*

Well folks, there you have it, my top 3 ways to wash out pomade. I’ve heard em all and tried most of em, but don’t be afraid to share your ways with everyone, comment and share the wealth with others!

Until the next time, folks.

Pomp Hard!

24 responses to “Top 3 Ways To Wash Out Pomade.

  1. My usual method is simply to switch to a water based pomade for a day or two. I use Dax Wave and Groom, either straight from the can or fortified with a bit of heavy wax mixed in, so as you know it can be fun fun fun to try and clean out.
    Here’s my usual method:
    3-4 days of Dax. Starting to get a bit soft ’cause of the oils from my head. Not able to style properly anymore.
    Wash hair once, maybe twice with regular shampoo (pantene. Girl shampoo you say? Bite me. It works). Cuts out the lighter oils and cleans out my hair nicely but leaves the heavier stuff behind.
    Dry hair somewhat, comb it straight while still a bit damp.
    Slap in the water based pomade! I use Monkey Brains ’cause I’m cheap and I can get it local. I dig layrite, it’s what I started with, but I can’t afford to use it regularly. Since my hair is still damp it applies well and holds like crazy. I can do scary things at this stage and I often do. Smoke ‘em if you got ‘em right?
    Don’t bother washing it out that day, wet-comb it and put in a bit more the next day if necessary. After the second day, wash everything out and shampoo your hair once or twice. 100 percent grease free and ready for another round.

    Notes: I actually prefer to have some Dax left in my hair when I put the water based stuff in, it holds better and is easier to style. If I put it in dry hair I’ll be able to do a decent pomp, but after an hour or two I’ll start having hairs spring loose and curl up. Not cool.
    Also, if you’re not careful, this method can be real hard on your hair. Wet-combing is your best friend, otherwise you’ll be pulling out hairs like crazy.
    Sometimes your hair will act like you’re trying to style it with oil rather than pomade. It won’t hold for crap and it’ll look real shiny. Add water. Water-based pomade is just that, WATER BASED. Without water all you have is some grease, water-based polymers, and an emulsifier. Add water and your pomade will stiffen back up.

  2. The “dish soap” does it for me everytime. I always tell folks that a pomade is meant ot stay on the hair and I can’t undersatnd these cats who want to wash a pomade out totally everyday, I just don’t get it! I’ve applied a different pomade on top of a half washed out one and everything worked fine with styling and no hair loss.

  3. Hey man this isn’t related to your post (well slightly) but I am wondering when you are putting up another video! I enjoy your videos greatly and it’s easier to keep up with you.
    IMO you should do 1 vid a week, an at the least once every other week. Not only is it awesome you can apply to be a youtube partner once you get a decent amount of subscribers!

    • Big thanks, Tim!

      I’ve been trying to get some videos done, but they’ve turned out like shit. I’m hoping to get one done within the next week or two, so definitely check back then!

      - Jan

  4. I must ask how often do you recommend to wash the hair when you have pomade in it? Lets just say I had a problem before I started to use pomade and other greasy products. I had this problem where my hair started to get greasy just after 1 day (And with no products I mean…), so I started to wash my hair less often then for my head to stop produce so much fat (Sebum). And it worked! But ever since I started with the 40′s slicked back style I have been using pomade and other greasy products and has since then been washing my hair every day with Shampoo, and I wonder if it’s really that healthy for the hair?

    // Sincerely Joel

    • Joel,

      I personally wash my hair everyday. Not with shampoo, but with hot water (in the shower.) It washes out the greasiness of the pomade, which is a major issue for a lot of people, especially those with girlfriends. But other than that, I only thoroughly wash out pomade about every week or every other week.

      It’s actually unhealthy to wash your hair with shampoo everyday, as your scalp needs the natural oils it produces, to keep it nice and healthy. By shampooing everyday, you’re getting rid of the oils, and will eventually dry out your scalp, causing dandruff. If you absolutely have to shampoo your hair, I recommend doing it every other 2-3 days, if that. Also, if you do shampoo, always rinse your hair out with cold water.

      - Jan

  5. “fuck this peanut butter sandwich, I wanna wash my hair,” is the quote of the year, brother! I LOL’d. Yeah, I’m a Palmolive fan. I put some in, lather it up a bit and THEN add water a little at a time. It’s not perfect, but boy does it help.

    Thanks for the tips. A great read as always.

  6. I always had great luck using crew shampoo then coating my hair with crew conditioner and leaving it in until I am about to get out of the shower,then rinse it clean…seemed to work pretty good

  7. I use baby oil to get the grease out. Apply it in the shower, rub it in, use a fine comb to remove excess, and shampoo.

    I don’t use grease much anymore, but I apply a thin layer before using water soluble pomade. The thin layer of grease give the comb-ability, without flaking, throughout the day.

  8. Has anyone ever tried Dr. Bronner magic soap? I haven’t, but I just may since I read it works really well as a shampoo.

    http://www.drbronner.com

    • I haven’t, but I’m very familiar with this soap. I know a lot of folks use it to specifically wash their denim, but I haven’t heard of it being used for degreasing. Try it out and let me know what you think!

      • I have been using Murray’s Super Light, so keep that in mind, but I’ve tried Bronner’s a couple of times now, and it seems to work really well!

        I’m using the peppermint kind, so I don’t know if that’s helping, but I’d definitely recommend this method.

        If I use a heavier pomade, I’ll be sure to follow up.

        -Ryan

      • Cool, man. Keep me updated!

  9. Hey Jan

    I’ve been combing in a pompadour for about a year now. It really started out as nothing serious, going to a work party where the theme was Rock ‘n’ Roll and I took the rockabilly Era to it. Found the pomp look along with sideburns something I had to try out for a little longer time then just an evening so I stayed with it. And here I am.. one year later, many pomades richer.

    Stumbled upon your blog when I decided to order some more from Amazon and you helped a lot. Just wanted to thank you for a great blog and I’ll keep on reading!

    You know, it ain’t easy to be greasy here in Iceland. There isn’t a big market here of pomades. Really small. A guy named Smutty Smith is doing rockabilly haircuts here in Reykjavík, the capital, and sells Murray’s and Nu-Nile. 16$ for a can! Haha, can’t blame him though. Damn economy crisis, high taxes and shipping rates. But I managed to get me some Sweet Georgia Brown (blue can), DAX and Hair-Glo for sheen ordered online. When I was in Oslo I got my hands over some Layrite. Nice to try out the water-soulable stuff also.

    I do switch between just combing a pompadour or blow-drying the hair into styles of pomp. Works both ways for me but when I got the hang of blow-drying I like it a lot. A kind of versatility. Do you often use a blow-dryer?

    Didn’t take washing out pomade seriously until I started reading your blog. Meanwhile not finding pomades in Iceland, good luck with cleansing shampoo. Took the matters in my own hands, went to the pharmacy and bought some shampoo made especially for greasy hair. Of course not intended to be used for washing out pomades but it actually does a really good job with couple of washes and some normal shampoo action in the end. Makes the scalp a little dry but really ok on a once a week or two basis. Better then the dish washing liquid treatment I think.
    Meanwhile finding Layrite in Oslo I also found Black and White Deep Cleansing Shampoo. Probably does the same thing as DAX vegetable shampoo wich you recommend and smells nice too!

    I’m standing out of the crowd here in Iceland. Don’t know anyone who greases up their hair and does a pomp on daily basis. But that’s nice. I like to say to people that I’m using the real stuff, the thing they used in the old days, the petroleum based stuff, the stuff that stays in your hair, the stuff I like to call ‘hársmyrsli’ in Icelandic. Got many nice comments about my hair. Hopefully I’ll start a more demand for pomades in Iceland so someone will import more brands. Afterall, we are just 320.000 in all.

    Hoped you had the patience to read my story. I’ll keep on reading your well written, humorous, good blog.

    All the best,
    Eiríkur Rafn Stefánsson

    • Hey,

      First off, thanks for the kind words about the blog. I’m glad you dig it!

      If I ever use a blow dryer, I only use it to melt the pomade in my hair. I actually have no idea how to style my pomp, while using a blow dryer! I’m not a hairstylist, so go figure!

      Glad to know you’re doing your thing. I know I’ve got a few readers from Iceland, albiet a literal few. But still, it’ll eventually catch on and you’ll find many other cats in your area, who are into the same things! It’s just a matter of time! And hey, at least you can say you’re the trendsetter, right? Haha.

      Thanks again man!

      - Jan

  10. Nice blog! Good info on washing out the really heavy stuff. Have you ever tried goo gone to get the pomade out of your hair? I stumbled upon this about a year ago and it works the first time and it gets all of the pomade out of your hair no matter how long/much is in. You certainly have to wash with shampoo and conditioner afterward but I did a little research and found out that it’s not so bad to use this stuff for you hair. Not the most appealing way to do t, but I can wash out Murray’s the same day and have a grease-free pillow that night. This stuff works! Anyway, thanks for the awesome blog.

    • Thanks!

      I haven’t tried Goo Gone. I’ve heard about it from a few people, but never took it into consideration, considering what Goo Gone is used for! Haha. Have you tried the Groom & Clean method? If not, try it and let me know how it compares to Goo Gone. Personally, I dig the Groom & Clean method. I plan on buying this degreaser I’ve been meaning to buy for other things, and trying it out for the hair. We’ll see how this works out!

      - Jan

  11. Thanks for your blog about the pomades and using it. I live in Finland and heres only couple of suppliers who sold these pomades that you have rewieved. Only trouble is that in here the pompadours and so called Bogies are also thought as rednecks and rebels (the grey ones). So it quite neat to read about this items in a real user poit of view. Don’t even ask about the barbers who would cut those hair styles, they have probably died about 50 years ago….

    Well I also use the Dax removing shampoo but the price in here is about 15 usd minimun so its pretty expensive but what wouldn’t a man do for hes curls.

    I’ve tried to find the pomade for myself for that jazzers look which is quite important for a jazz trombonist :D. I’ve used B&W, Lucky 13 lightining, Dax Super Neat but now I orderd Murrays special and Nu Nile cause of your rewiev, hope I don’t loose my hair cause of that

    So I’m hoping for more and wish you and your hair the best and keep your pomp up!

    Aleksis Laurila
    Finland

  12. My wife has been using the Wen cleansing conditioner so I tried it and I have found that using it by the directions on the bottle cuts a lot of grease out. I use Murray’s Superior, and my current wash out method is to slick with Groom and Clean, then rinse with water after it has been in my hair a while. Follow that up with Wen and fluffy hair ensues.

  13. Thanks!!!

    Just tried the olive oil, dish soap combo, and it works a treat. Much appreciated.

  14. I know I’m a little late to the party on this one, but for over a decade I’ve used baby oil then shampoo. The mineral oil dilutes and cuts through the petroleum and wax, then washes out with regular shampoo (and is dirt cheap, and accessible to anyone within a few minutes if you live close to pretty much any store). I just squeeze some baby oil into my hand, rub it through my hair, then wash with shampoo. The whole thing takes about 10 seconds longer than regular washing, it’s SUPER effective, and incredibly convenient. I used to use olive oil, but compared to a big bottle of baby oil the price is ridiculous. Also, baby oil seems to cut through even more.

  15. Hey Jan,

    When you use Groom & Clean for grease removal, how exactly do you do it? Do you apply it, let it sit, and then wash it out? I used to use it as a styling tool, but not for pomade removal. Do tell–and thanks!
    Andy

Leave a Reply

